Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Hugs and Kisses

Good morning friends.  Today I'm sharing the step-by-step process for my Hugs & Kisses journal spread I created for the February Challenge over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity.

1)  Tear strips out of old book pages and glue them to the bottom half of each side.  Gesso.
2)  Spray LSG Peony Scarlet Red, Autumn Maple Crimson, and Opal Sea Oats all over the pages.
3)  Add texture using the TH Doily stencil and glossy transparent text paste.
4)  Stencil TH Mini Countdown with Versamark ink and embloss with black EP.
5)  Stamp CV Klimt Kiss on mixed media paper with Versamark ink and emboss with black EP.  Color with markers and cut out.
6)  Add a die cut Hugs and Kisses to the left side of the page and Klimt Kiss to the right.
7)  Scatter die cut hearts across both pages and use a brown Pitt pen to add highlights.
8)  Splatter spread with LSU Luminous Lemon, Luscious Lime, Midnight Rendezvous Raven, & gesso mixed with water.

Thank you for joining me today.  Stay tuned for more step-by-steps from me and others on the LCD team.  Oh, don't forget, you still have a few days to get your entry in for the February Challenge.  Click HERE for all the details and the Linky.

Until later................
Smiles~
Marilyn (aka Tarnished Rose)

Friday, February 17, 2017

Be Mine

Good morning lovelies.  I hope you had a wonderful Valentine's Day.  I know I did.  Continuing in that vein I wanted to share a quick Valentine's ATC with you.  It really and truly can be for any time of the year, if you want someone to know how very dear they are to you.

I started out by trimming a red piece of cardstock to ATC size.  I stenciled on hearts using Adirondack Raisin and them stamped Cat Quotes randomly with SU Cherry Cobbler.  Next came some rub-ons from 7 Gypsies.  I stamped Be Mine with SU Cherry Cobbler and then fussy cut out, separating the Be Mine sentiment from the rest of the stamp (two stamps in one! gotta love it).  I added that to the center of my ATC, keeping the main image slightly below center (rule of 1/3).  I then used Cranberry Stickles and Frosted Lace Stickles to add dots of color all over the ATC.  Done!

Thank you for stopping by today.  Check in a little later this week for more step-by-steps from me and other members of the LCD team.

Until later.................
Smiles~
Marilyn (aka Tarnished Rose)

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Another New Release from Lost Coast Designs!

It's Nan again with a fabulous full Small Skeleton that is being reminded by his skull friend that with those wonderful wings he need not walk!  How happy this made my skellie friend, hence his party hat!  I hope you have enjoyed seeing the new releases from both Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda's Stamps as much as I am enjoying playing with them!  Such fun and with the fantastic events we have been and are having, it is just that much more fun!  I hope you have entered our Steampunk Queen of Hearts Event; make sure you visit the The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity   to see our last amazing project from one of the design team today!



The Small Skeleton's helpful wings and fun party hat are from the Doll Accessories set which is full of fun things!  The Persian Skull that is helping out our pal with some advice comes from Lost Coast Designs, too, along with the Old Typewriter Alphabet set for the word "fly".  The smaller words set I picked up in Japan and it is very interestingly made.  

Please check out our monthly challenge "Lovers" HERE and of course, all of our event information and all the details of all we have going on visit The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity !

 And

Saturday, February 11, 2017

A Promise of Amore!

Hi, it's Nan with you today and a little brave Matador Monkey!  He is a new release at Carmen's Veranda Stamps and I just love him!  And as Valentine's Day quickly approaches, he is promising his everlasting love to someone.  He seems very determined about it, too!


Hope you have enjoyed this little guy like I have and hop on over to Carmen's Veranda and see all the odd, quirky stamps that are offered there!  There is a showing from Lost Coast Designs Stamps in the word "Promise"  from the Mis. Words Set

As you know, but just so you can't say you didn't :) the The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity     is where it is all happening all the time!  An event starting up today!  The Steampunk Queen event!  Check out the Portal for Leigh's lovely offer and get all the details!  Our monthly challenge is "Lovers" so make sure you play there also!  The more you play the more stamps you can earn!

 And

Friday, February 10, 2017

"Steampunk Queen of Hearts" Mad Hatter's Top Hat

Happy Friday Lost Coasters!
We're going down the rabbit hole on another adventure into Wonderland over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity and this time we've found ourselves in the realm of Steampunk ruled by the Queen of Hearts!
Mattel's Ever After High Lizzie Hearts doll
Buckle up coz things are getting steamy as we countdown to Valentine's Day with daily LCDesigner project shares!  Come and join the adventure and link up your own Steampunk Wonderland creations in the linky HERE!  You have until midnight PST on February 24th so play with us for the chance to win some LCD/CV rubber!
Join Us for another Wonderland adventure! 
I'm a huge Alice in Wonderland fan so of course I have the Ever After High Wonderland character dolls in my collection.  For my project I made Lizzie Hearts an oversized Mad Hatter's top hat!
 I designed and created the top hat from scratch using red cardstock that I'd embossed with a large embossing folder (Regency Crafter's Companion) and enhanced the design with Black Soot Distress ink.  I then happily decorated it with lots of fun embellishments and stamped elements.

I altered a 9 of Hearts playing card and stamped it with Lost Coast Designs large Gears background in Galaxy Gold Brilliance ink and embossed with gold and silver embossing powders.  I distressed the edges of the large playing card and the mini Queen of Hearts playing card with Tim's paper distresser tool and applied Black Soot Distress ink to the edges.  I stamped Lost Coast Designs Queen of Hearts with Tuxedo Black Memento ink onto Neenah Solar White cardstock, coloured her with Copics and a metallic gold gel pen and fussy cut her out.  I also stamped up the leaves from Lost Coast Designs large Rose in Galaxy Gold Brilliance ink, embossed with a combo of gold and silver EP and fussy cut them out.  I then painted the leaves with Grass Green and Jade Nuance Powders.  I also stamped up a few card suites and hearts using Lost Coast Designs Heart Diamond Spade Club Border and Hearts and Curls Border in Galaxy Gold, embossed with gold EP and fussy cut them out too.  Next I cut out various greenery from black cardstock using Tim Holtz Garden Greens dies and applied metallic silver and gold rub-on cremes to the pieces.  I embellished my top hat with black tulle, red and white paper roses and assorted brass gears.

Here's a closer look at all the details!
Thanks for stopping by to see my project today!
Have a great weekend!
Leigh S-B
THE SHARPIE DOMINO QUEEN
LCD/CV DT Manager

Monday, February 6, 2017

The Promise - a Valentine's Day card

Happy Monday Lost Coasters!
Valentine's Day is just around the corner and our February Challenge, #33, over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity is dedicated to "Lovers"!  Here's my LCDesigner challenge project to inspire you to come and join the fun!


Some find making Valentine's Day cards suitable for the guys a challenge so I stayed away from the traditional lovey dovey red and white in favour of a more masculine palette and used black, white and grey decorative papers for this project which features Gustav Klimt's "The Kiss" by Carmen's Veranda.


I started out by stamping Carmen's Veranda Klimt Kiss and the text from Lost Coast Designs Misc. Words set onto mixed media cardstock with Tuxedo Black Memento Ink.  I then coloured the image with Copic markers and added metallic touches to the fabrics and the vines with gold, silver and copper gel pens and metallic green Promarker.  I used Black Soot and Walnut Distress Crayons to create the watercoloured background and then die cut out the image and the matching black mat with Spellbinders mega rectangle Deckled dies.   I cut text boxers using scissors and the "is" and "a" were cut from other words in the Misc Words set as well.  Before adhering the stamped image and text to their black mats I applied metallic silver rub-on creme to all the edges and then used scissors to cut the matching deckle edges on the text mats.  I then cut and assembled all the DCWV decorative paper panels and adhered everything to the folded card I made from black cardstock with Scotch Quick Dry adhesive and pop dots.  I completed my card with self-adhesive black diamonds in 2 sizes.

 
 I used the following supplies on this one:
 Carmen's Veranda Klimt Kiss
Lost Coast Designs Misc. Words set
Mixed media cardstock
Black cardstock for the mats and folded card
Tuxedo Black Memento Ink
Copics
Metallic gold, silver and copper gel pens
Metallic Green Promarker
Black Soot and Walnut Distress Crayons
Spellbinders mega Deckled rectangle dies
Silver rub-on creme
DCWV decorative papers
Self adhesive black diamonds
Pop dots and Scotch Quick Dry Adhesive

Thanks for stopping by to see my project today!
Happy Stamping!

Leigh S-B
THE SHARPIE DOMINO QUEEN

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

FEBRUARY NEWSLETTER!

Hello Lost Coasters!
We have lots of news to share but first a big THANK YOU to everyone who played in our 2nd annual Edgar Allan Poe Appreciation Day Blog Hop!  Lots of POE-tastic projects were shared and the winner will be announced soon over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity!  Don't forget to mark your calendars and return January 2018 for our 3rd Poe Hop!

Did you see the new stamps we released in January?  Click on each promo below to see the stamps in action and click Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda to go so them in our stores!
http://lostcoastportaltocreativity.blogspot.com/2017/01/poe-appreciation-day-blog-hop-2017-and.html?m=1
http://lostcoastportaltocreativity.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/oddities-new-stamp-release.html?m=1
 
THANK YOU to those who played in our Alice in Winterland adventure as well, your Winterland creations are breath taking.  Sadly there were not enough entries to award our LCD/CV Bucks prize but one winner will receive our exclusive Winterland Winner's badge for you to proudly display on your blog.  Hopefully our next Wonderland adventure will be more to your liking😉

 Did you know?
Our Events and Challenges are open to ALL rubber stamp companies and if you use any Lost Coast Designs or Carmen's Veranda stamps your entry counts as TWO and doubles your chances of winning!  Follow Lost Coast Portal to Creativity and never miss our activities again! 

Our Prizes!
Our prizes are based on the amount of entries we receive so the more you enter the higher the prize!
Gather all your friends and come and join the fun!

 FEBRUARY'S ACTIVITIES!


 We're kicking off our fun activities with our monthly Challenge for February.  Stop by LCPtoC from February 6th to Feb 25th and play!

 Then we are continuing our adventure into Wonderland where Hearts, Gears and Cogs abound!  It is Curiouser and Curiouser to say the least and you will be mad if you don't join us at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity on February 11th to see what our talented LCDesigners are sharing as we countdown to Valentine's Day!

Join us this month and be in the running to win LCD/CV rubber stamps!
 
Last but not least I'm excited to let you know that Linda and I are busy working on some top secret stuff over at Lost Coast Designs and have fabulous new things in the works for this year starting with something that is all the rage and will be launched this month!  Of course we will have something special for you just for the launch!  Stay tuned😃

Fun times ahead over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity so pop on over and Stay to Play😃

Happy Stamping!
Leigh S-B
The Sharpie Domino Queen

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Beauties on Tags

Hi all! It's Nan with two tags today.  Now why are there two and not three tags as I intended?  Well, much to my shame I had all three tags stuck into a book so that they would dry flat and the book ate one of the tags!  Yes, ate it!  I went through that book 8 times no sign of it...gremlins again?  But I did get my two beauties on tags even with the drama!


The first thing I did was stamp the DT with the stamp Birds in Tree in purple Distress Ink then I  stamped two of the Gibson Girl's Faces from the set in different Distress Inks on kraft paper I bought in Japan which is very thin almost like tissue paper. I inked the tags after gluing some DP torn and inked edges onto the tags.  I used honeycomb stamp from the Lattice ATC Stamp set in purple on different spots and the Cherry Tree stamp from the ATC Misc. 2 Set.

So I hope you enjoyed my Gibson Girl tags today and also hope that you will check out the Lost Coast Portal to Creativity for all challenges, events, and Designer Reviews!

 And
please like our Facebook pages



Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Winter Wonderland

Good morning everyone!  Today, I want to share an Alice in Wonderland ATC I created,for the Lost Coast Portal to Creativity's Alice in Winterland event. 
I started by spraying the background with LSG Bachelor Button Blue and Sassy Sapphire.  I then stamped Grunge Tree in brown ink and spritzed with LSG Sidewalk Chalk to give it a snowy look.  Once that was dry, I stamped a bunch of snowflakes using the Snowflakes Border and white pigment ink, then embossed with white EP.  On a separate sheet of paper I stamped Alice from Alice and the Queen and colored her with Nuance powders in Turquoise and Bright Yellow and cut her out.  Next, I used modeling paste to add snow at the bottom and then added Alice.  Finally, I used Nuvo White Blizzard and Midnight Blue crystal drops to add more texture.

Thank you for stopping by.  Until later.................

Marilyn

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Alice in Winterland and Poe Appreciation Day Blog Hop

Happy Weekend Lost Coasters!
We are currently celebrating Edgar Allan Poe's 208th Birthday with our 2nd annual Edgar Allan Poe Appreciation Day Blog Hop over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity this week!  But before I share my 1st Poe project I have my Alice in Winterland card I made for our other current event, Alice in Winterland, to share!
 A Wonderlandful adventure began on January 12 over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity!
Alice has fallen down the rabbit hole again but this time she has found herself in a magical Winter Wonderland!  Join the adventure and enter your wintery Wonderland themed projects by midnight PST on January 31st for the chance to win LCD/CV Bucks to spend on rubber at Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda!
 I had an absolute blast designing this accordion fold double window card featuring the following stamps:

Lost Coast Designs
"Alice" from the Alice, Tweedles and Alice in Chair set
"Alice and Griffin" from the Alice, Dodo and Griffin set
"Alice" from the Alice and the Queen and Sitting Queen set
"Cheshire Cat" from the Rabbits, Cat Face, Hatter, Rabbit with Watch set
"Perspective Floor"
Various Snowflakes from the Small and Large Snowflake sets  

Carmen's Veranda
ATC Birds in Tree
The watercoloured background was created with Nuance water-soluable powder dyes by Magenta
 Who is Alice talking to?  Why, a disappearing Cheshire Cat of course 😄
Here's a look at all the panels. 
 I created the wonderful blue background with Nuance Pigment Powders and then die cut the round windows with a Spellbinders die.  I stamped various sizes of the Snowflakes with Turquoise Gem and Sea Breeze VersaMagic inks and then the Perspective Floor and the Cheshire cat face in black Archival Ink.  I masked the cat face with Pebeo masking liquid and stamped the tree.  The rest of the Alice images were stamped onto Neenah Solar White cardstock with Tuxedo Black ink and coloured with Copics.  I then adhered them to another sheet of Nuance treated cardstock to make the backs pretty and give them more weight before fussy cutting them all out.  The images were adhered to the card with Scotch Quick Dry adhesive and then I embellished the card with various Memory Box die cut snowflakes which I'd blinged up on both sides with Crystal Stickles glitter glue.  I also applied the glitter glue to the stamped snowflakes, outlined the windows (front and back), glittered the entire tree, edged the floor and at the base of the images to ground them and finally the Gryphon for lots of yummy magical winter sparkle. 
Onto my Poe Blog Hop project!  
 Our hop began on Poe's Birthday, January 19th, and ends at 5 to midnight PST on January 23rd.  It is a progressive hop that spans over 5 days accumulating new projects as more Poe fans play so check daily and hop all the participating blogs!  The Blog Roll is in the form of an Inlinkz link up and the HTML code to use in your blog posts is provided over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity on the January 19th's Hop post!  Last year's hop was a huge success and we hope to see lots of fabulous Poe themed creations shared again this year so pop on over for all the info on how to participate and win a prize and enjoy the Poe show!
 There is a PRIZE up for grabs!
One participating Blogger will be randomly selected to win $10 in LCD/CV Bucks to spend on rubber at our Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda online stores!
In celebration of our 2nd Poe Hop we also released 5 new stamps:  4 Zentangle inspired Ravens (available in various sizes) and a standing Skellie!  They are so much fun and I used all 5 on my project share today.

But wait..there's more, we also have a wonderful Poe Hop special for you!
 Place an order, of any value, and receive TWO fabulous FREEBIE rubber stamps!  The special is open to everyone planet wide!  How Poesome is this "Nevermore" text and Raven😉
Now to share my project for Day 1 of the Poe Hop...an altered alphabet resin cube which I found on clearance last year and I've been saving it for this hop!  It even already had the "P" on it...how could I resist😀

a closer look at each panel
 I used the following rubber stamps:
Lost Coast Designs newest Zentangle inspired Ravens:   Raven Mom small, Raven Right Small, Raven Left Small, Raven 1 and Small Skeleton as well as the Scalloped Flourish.
Carmen's Veranda:  Edgar Allan Poe portait and a small "Nevermore" text stamp...which is one of the Poe Hop Freebies you'll get for a placing an order!
In these photos you can see the Skeleton and the metallic gold flourishes
I started out by cutting four 2.5" square panels from Neenah Solar White cardstock and I stamped the Ravens with Tuxedo Black Memento ink.  Each bird was coloured with Copics and then masked with Pebeo masking fluid.  For the backgrounds I applied Tea Dye, Aged Mahogany and Black Soot Distress inks with Tim's foam ink applicators.  The "Nevermore" text and Poe's portrait were then stamped with black Archival ink, the Skeleton in London Fog Memento ink and the flourishes in Galaxy Gold Brilliance ink.  I used Tim's paper distresser tool to roughen up the edges and applied metallic gold rub-on creme to the distressed edges before adhering the panels to the cube which I'd already distressed a bit more with sandpaper.  I also added gold rub-on creme to the "P" and, more subtly, to all the edges of the cube as well.

That's it for today but I will have more Poe inspired projects to share over the duration of the hop too...I can't help myself, I just love Poe, so see you again soon over in the Poe Hop😉

Now off you HOP to see more fabulous Poe inspired creations by my fellow LCDesigners and our wonderful participating Poe Fans!
Enjoy!

Happy Hopping
Leigh S-B
The Sharpie Domino Queen
LCD/CV Manager